Ronnie O’Sullivan in action at Ladbrokes Snooker Grand Prix at Preston Guild Hall

The tables are set. Credit: Tyler Browne

Preston Guild Hall is preparing for snooker’s Ladbrokes World Grand Prix as 32 of the world’s top players from this season showcase their skills.

The six-day tournament starts today with five-time World Champion Ronnie O’Sullivan playing his first round match at 7pm (Live on ITV4.)

During the week other major players such as Masters Champion Mark Allen, four-time World Champion John Higgins, and World number one and World Champion Mark Selby will be aiming to win the title and the £100,000 prize in Sunday’s final.

Last year’s winner Barry Hawkins has failed to qualify meaning O’Sullivan is ranked as top seed and is the fan’s favourite to win the bounty.

The 32 players qualified from a one-year ranking list. Unlike the official world ranking list which is released over a two-year period, the one-year list is used to determine qualification for the Grand Prix and includes only prize money earned since the start of this season.

The tournament is one of snooker’s newest events and was staged for the first time in 2015, when Judd Trump beat O’Sullivan 10-7 in the final in Llandudno, North Wales. Shaun Murphy defeated Stuart Bingham in a final-frame decider at the same venue 12 months later but in 2017 the event moved to Preston’s Guild Hall where Hawkins beat Ryan Day 10-7.


Today’s Matches:  
Evening Session (7pm)
First Round (Best of 7 frames)
TV Coverage: ITV4

  • Ronnie O’Sullivan v Robert Milkins
  • Martin Gould v Yan Bingtao
  • Ryan Day v Jack Lisowski
  • Luca Brecel v Michael Georgiou

World Grand Prix: Prize Money

Winner: £100,000
Runner-up: £40,000
Semi-final: £20,000
Quarter-final: £12,500
Last 16: £7,500
Last 32: £5,000Highest Break: £5,000
Total: £300,000
Rolling 147 maximum break prize: £5,000