Rugby League: Red Devils looking to end Wembley wait as Wolves stalk Challenge Cup success.

Salford Red Devils will be looking to make it two wins over Warrington in the space of a week as they battle it out for a place in the Challenge Cup final.

A season to remember in 2019 saw the Red Devils make their first Super League grand final, but ultimately, they came up short against St Helens.

However, the Red Devils have not reached the final of Rugby League’s cup final for 51 years when they were defeated at Wembley by Castleford who were knocked out of this year’s competition by Hull FC.

It has been a successful few season for the Lancashire based club with Ian Watsons sides coming close to being relegated to making a play off push.

Despite offloading Jackson Hastings to the Wigan Warriors, the Red Devils have been able to adapt and put another strong team together.

They currently sit 9th in the table but their performances do not reflect the place they sit in the table.

For Warrington they will be looking to make it to Wembley for the third year in a row and chase a second Challenge Cup win in a row.

Warrington defeated St Helens at Wembley last year in a controversial final in London.

When it comes to league form, Warrington are the more dominant side heading into Saturday semi final clash.

Just one defeat in their last six fixtures means that they sit second in Super League behind St Helens who lead the way under the newly introduced win percentage-based table.

That sole defeat came at the hands of Salford on Tuesday as they fell to a 20-18 loss.

Josh Thewlis, Nathan Roebuck and Riley Dean all touched down for debut tries against a strong Red Devils side.

There was worry for Ian Watson’s Devils that ahead of this weekend’s clash with Warrington that Dan Sarginson would be unavailable for the Red Devils after he was given an initial two game ban for a high tackle on Hull FC fullback Jamie Shaul.


Salford Red Devils: 3. Kris Welham 4. Dan Sarginson. 5. Krisnan Inu. 6. Tui Lolohea 7. Kevin Brown. 8. Lee Mossop. 9. Joey Lussick 10. Gil Dudson 11. Ryan Lannon. 12. Pauli Pauli 13. Tyrone McCarthy 14. Sebastine Ikahihifo 16. Greg Bure. 18. Chris Atkin 19. Mark Flanagan. 21. James Greenwood. 22. Rhys Williams 24. Elliot Kear. 26. Jack Ormondroyd. 29. Oliver Roberts 32. Kallum Watkins

Warrington Wolves Squad: Matty Ashton, Blake Austin, Josh Charnley, Daryl Clark, Jason Clark, Mike Cooper, Ben Currie, Matt Davis, Anthony Gelling, Chris Hill, Jack Hughes, Toby King, Jake Mamo, Ben Murdoch-Masila, Declan Patton, Joe Philbin, Stefan Ratchford, Ellis Robson, Josh Thewlis, Danny Walker, Gareth Widdop.